Home > Leadership > Memorial Day 2011

Memorial Day 2011

As a Veteran, Memorial Day has a special meaning to me.  I’ve had friends who have made the ultimate sacrifice and I will never forget them.  I will hold their families in a special place in my heart.

On to Fiddler's Green

I’ve mourned for them.  I’ve sat at the memorials while the First Sergeant conducted roll call only to say that final name, knowing that the only answer would be silence.  The silence is so heavy with emptiness because you want them to answer that roll call.  You listen and for a split second you just know that they have to answer.  But they don’t.

I choose to remember the fallen by living my life to honor them.  Mourning is over.  I will never forget but now is the time for living.

Categories: Leadership Tags: , ,
  1. May 30, 2011 at 9:33 am

    Well said. Happy (for want of a better word) memorial day to you.

  2. May 30, 2011 at 9:47 am

    Thank you.

  3. Dan
    June 13, 2011 at 1:50 pm

    Nice post. Final roll call was always tough. We had a bagpiper that would play as well and I can’t stand the sound of bagpipes now because of it. The link below is to my post from Memorial Day. I’ve also got a few others on the military that you might enjoy.
    http://nolongercensored.wordpress.com/2011/05/30/its-memorial-day-take-time-to-remember/

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment