Home > Business, Career, Inspiration, mentor, Self Help > Searching for Obi Wan

Searching for Obi Wan

Wisdom is hard to come by.  So is a magic crystal ball that can tell the future.  I’m sure most of us wish we knew what the future held.  It’s often hard to see the consequences of our actions.  Even good intentions can have poor outcomes.

We should all be so lucky.

I like to talk over my plans with my mentor.  Not everyone has the luxury of a mentor but I highly suggest you seek one out.  It doesn’t have to be a formal process just find someone who you trust and who seems to have good judgment more often than not.  You’re not looking for a “perfect” person either.  Actually the people that make good mentors are ones that had some rather tough times or significant failures that they were able to recover from.  They’ve learned from their real life experience and have a unique perspective about moving through the twisting and turning roads that life can take.

Just make sure your mentor actually knows something about the topic on which you could use some advice.  If they aren’t good with money, I would suggest finding a different mentor for money matters.  Someone who has been married and divorced a couple times may make just as good of a mentor about relationships as someone who has only been married once.  In some instances you may want to learn from both people, those who failed and those with a long positive track record as long as your ultimate path is to succeed.  The key is to ask a lot of questions and formulate a plan of action.

If you are looking for a business mentor, try and find a mentor who is successful.  I know that might sound simple but you want to make sure.  Hopefully they know something about your field as well so they can give you some good tips.  Even if it is general business practices that will help if you are in different industries.

I’m starting an entrepreneur club with a couple of friends who have a local business.  We’ve decided to meet once a month and talk about our businesses and our goals and challenges.  I think it has the potential to be a very good outlet for creativity.  While it is not directly a mentorship it will have some elements.  I’ll be sure to discuss the group interactions with my mentor though.  Just to make sure we’re on positive course.

  1. ChrisT
    January 10, 2011 at 10:19 am

    Obi Wan Kenobi…I am my only hope.

    Poor, poor pittiful Carrie Fisher. 50is, over weight, still whining about her poor unhappy childhood. Now doing an TV special called “Wishful Drinking”.

    If one is lucky enough to find a good mentor that can offer the appropriate wisdom under the circumstances, one should take the info and actually put it to work! “Use the Force, Luke!”

    I’m anxious to hear more about your entrepreneur club.

    Have a fabulously productive day!

  2. January 10, 2011 at 10:49 am

    Chris,

    Mark Hamill turned out okay. And so did Luke.

    Having a wise and knowledgeable mentor is invaluable. Getting insight from an outside source is very helpful. Sometimes we can’t see the forest from the trees.

    My Entrepreneur club went very, very well this weekend. We are scheduled again for next month. We talked about sales pitches, internet marketing, investing in new equipment and managing growth. We were scheduled for an hour, and went two hours. It was a very free flowing discussion. We had a written agenda to guide us but the discussions just flowed and were great. Very useful.

    -Matt

  3. ChrisT
    January 10, 2011 at 11:37 am

    My guess is that Luke turned out okay because he knew he was his own “only hope” and actually used his mentored “force”.

    The princess, on the other hand, seemed to rely heavily on someone else to save her continually. First Obi Wan, then Luke, then Hans, then….well, you get the idea.

    There is a painting of a little girl at the racetrack, bursting with energy and holding a small calculator, pencil and betting form. It’s called “Betting on herself”. I remember how choked up I became the first time I saw it. It’s been hanging in my home for a while now. I see it every day, but I sometimes still get a little choked up when I pass by and glance her way.

    Mentors are surely a great way to learn, but a good one isn’t going to do it for you! But, maybe that’s a subject for another post.

  4. January 11, 2011 at 3:05 am

    Followed you from ComLuv , and yet another easy peasy post on how to live from you.

    Hope you guys have success with the club , and I am having my uncle as my mentor he has lot’s of experience both money and life related .

  5. January 11, 2011 at 7:01 am

    Harry,

    Thanks for coming over to the blog. My Uncle is also my mentor. He’s the man! He always gives timely and accurate advice about money and life too.

    Our first E* club meeting was a great success. We are moving forward with strategies we discussed at the meeting. It sure helps to have a support group. Ideas seem more real when discussed out loud.

    -Matt

    • February 2, 2011 at 10:41 am

      Good to hear about the success of the meeting 😉 and sorry for the late response , been a hellish month getting everything on the track after x-mas holiday … now am checking your new posts 😉

      • February 2, 2011 at 1:42 pm

        Harry,

        No problem. If you signed up for the email, you’d get the blog everyday. 🙂 Glad to have you back.

        I’d love to respond to your thoughts on my other posts.

        -Matt

  6. January 13, 2011 at 11:49 am

    Hi, i think that i saw you visited my blog so i came to “return the favour”.I am looking for ways to add things to my website!I suppose its ok to use some of your ideas!!

  7. January 13, 2011 at 8:10 pm

    Sure… ideas are free. Thanks for visiting. You could subscribe and get a new idea everyday if you want.

    -Matt

  1. January 12, 2011 at 10:22 am

Leave a Reply

