Home > Business, Career, Inspiration, Motivation, Success > How to be a quitter in 4 easy steps.

How to be a quitter in 4 easy steps.

Would you quit your job in a heart beat if you could?  Well, why not.  Quit.  But don’t just grab a beer, pull the emergency door, give everyone the finger and slide on down the freedom chute.

I'm outta here!

You need to have a plan first.  What do you want to do?  Start your own business?  Get a new job in a different field?  Walk the earth like Cain?  Whatever it is you need to sit down with a pencil and paper and map out a chart to get you to where you want to be.

Quitting is fine.  Look at it in a different way, if your heart isn’t in what you are doing, you are just marking time, in a holding pattern as life and opportunity pass you by.  That’s not good for you, your coworkers or your family.  That’s not quitting that’s improving your lot in life.  You need to find something that is going to energize you every morning you wake up.  Do something that doesn’t feel like “work”.

Is it crazy?  Maybe quitting is.  I quit my career of twelve years.  I wrote about it here and here.  It was very nerve racking for a bit.  But I also gave myself a two year period to make the transition.  Here are some of the steps that worked for me.

  1. Improving your current resume.   I did my absolute best work at my current job even though I knew in my heart that I was leaving.  I earned my best personal evaluation and helped guide my team to be one of the best in our field.  Having awards and quantifiable statistic showing improvement and growth on my resume really helped.
  2. Give yourself time. I first discussed the option of leaving my job in 2005 with my wife.  By 2007 I decided that I was going to leave and in 2008 I started looking for a new position even though my contract wasn’t up until the summer of 2009.  In the early months of 2009 I gave my notice that I would be leaving in the summer and started interviewing for positions.  I was able to find a new job and by the fall of 2009 I started my new position.  I was really stressed out doing interviews.  Even though I still had a job, I really wanted to nail everyone.
  3. Practice your interview skills. This is essential.  I have participated in hiring and interviewing new employees and the ones who aren’t prepared stick out like a sore thumb.  You cannot “wing it”.  Get a friend or spouse who will give you pointed feedback.  Simon Cowell-esqe feedback is the best.
  4. Don’t look back. This one is a little tough because I knew I didn’t have to leave my old job.  My old job was always a safety net.  I could have gone back at any time if my job search didn’t work out.  Heck, I still could go back but looking back is the wrong focus.  Once you have made up your mind, you need to have  laser focus on the path ahead.

If you are stuck in a dead end job, start a plan to move on to something more stimulating.  Listening to you complain about it day after day is getting old for someone.

  1. January 10, 2011 at 9:33 am

    This is such a great read. The difference of saying, “I quit!” vs. planning for years to make a change and improve your situation.

  2. January 10, 2011 at 9:48 am

    Jill,

    You have to have a plan. That’s the thing. We’d love to just quit and walk away (or slide down the escape slide!) but most of us have responsibilities.

    I hope these four tips will help focus those that are looking to find their passion.

    -Matt

  3. January 10, 2011 at 10:18 am

    Hi Matt,
    21 years ago I left my corporate job and started my own business and as you say “never looked back”. I like your post especially for this point: PLAN.

    Interesting that you say it took you 2 years. From the day I admitted I was going to make a change to the day I left was — 2 years! I wonder if that is a coincidence or something more. LOL

    Nonetheless, responsible planning is essential and then, the person must do it. Don’t over plan. Analysis paralysis will keep you only where you are.

    Bravo and I will RT this on Twitter.
    Kate

  4. January 10, 2011 at 10:41 am

    Kate,

    I really appreciate your kind words. I see too many miserable people who are disinterested and unhappy at “work”. When I ask, “why don’t you quit”, they start defending the very job they were just complaining about. They need the income, I get it. But if they are only working to make a few bucks, they probably aren’t as motivated as they could be. (or happy)

    My first career was as an Army Officer. I loved leading and commanding. My favorite assignment was teaching and coaching ROTC at a University. If I could choose to do anything, I would help mentor and motivate others. So I created this blog as an outlet. From the comments I get on this and other sites, I really think that I am once again helping. I love helping people succeed.

    Thanks so much for the RT.

    -Matt

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

