Home > Business, Leadership > Cubicle leadership.

Cubicle leadership.

I used to have fancy shiny things affixed to my clothing that denoted my exact worth to an organization.  This professional flair was essential for the job.  Without even asking me a question a stranger in my organization could make a few assumptions just by looking at me.  They could assume my level of general position and years I had been with the organization.  That shiny professional flair said a lot about me.

Nice flair

One day I switched jobs and it was gone.  No longer did I have the buffer the flair provided.  Now I had to talk to people and get to know them.  These new co-workers weren’t wearing any flair!  I had no idea if they were management or started two weeks ago.  Oh what to do?!  I had to talk to them and in turn they had to talk to me.  It was nice getting to know people who didn’t wear the flair. 

We still have roles and titles but it is much less formal and that is a good thing in my opinion.  I can no longer hide behind my flair.  I’m not defined by it.  I’m only defined by my actions and if I screw up, anyone can call me out on it, not just people with more flair.

Leaders are not leaders because of the position they hold or the flair they may wear.  They are leaders for the simple fact that others will follow.  A leader cannot lead without others willing to trust in the judgment of that leader.

Some of the best leaders I’ve ever worked with were good people.  They were competent, well spoken and personable.  They didn’t flaunt their position or status, they were humble.  And not all of them were in a position of elevated responsibility.  Leaders emerge when a leader is needed.  Don’t always look to the top, look to the people you trust.  Those un-appointed leaders, who are trustworthy and have integrity, are just as important when the going gets tough.

Who do you choose to follow?

Categories: Business, Leadership Tags: , ,
  1. ChrisT
    January 12, 2011 at 9:11 am

    Oh, the gentle giants. The ones we find easy to follow!

  2. January 12, 2011 at 9:13 am

    Chris,

    Sometimes we’re told to follow. And sometimes we follow because we want to. I bet most of us will go to the ends of the earth for those we choose to follow.

    -Matt

  3. ChrisT
    January 12, 2011 at 12:55 pm

    I know I do!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

